Students Earn Awards at NCB-ESA-2015!

NCB ESA Winners 2015
June 8, 2015

[6/8/15] Many of our graduate students were active at the NCB-ESA meetings in Manhattan, KS, last week, and several received awards. The UMN Linnaean team (Anthony Hanson, Tavvs Alves, Anh Tran and Grace Sward) made it to the semifinals, but lost to Michigan State (who later took 1st place). Tavvs Alves received 2nd place in the 10-minute paper competition for PhD students, while Anh Tran earned 2nd place in the 10-minute paper competition for MS students. Anthony Hanson and Tavvs Alves won NCB travel scholarships. Theresa Cira also gave an invited symposium presentation on brown marmorated stink bug ecology and IPM. As noted earlier, Amy Morey was selected to receive the 2015 NCB-ESA John Henry Comstock Award –the top student award given to graduate students within each ESA Branch, to promote interest in entomology at the graduate level and to stimulate interest in attending the ESA Annual Meeting (in Minneapolis this year!). Congrats again to all the students who received awards and participated this year!