Fall 2020 Achievements & Honors

ESA medals

National ESA Awards

Twenty-five UMN Entomologists presented live and on-demand presentations, posters and infographics, and participated in the Student Debate and other activities during the virtual ESA in November 2020. UMN students did a great job and won prizes in several competitions. 

The joint UMN/The OSU Team were the winners of the Topic 1 Debate on molecular vs morphology for insect id and classification. The team also won the prize for Overall Best Debate Team! Team members from UMN were Anh Tran and Michelle Boone. 

ESA Student Competition Winners


SysEB – Ismael Ramirez (2nd Place)

Oral Presentations:

P-IE, Invasive species

Jake Wittman (1st place) and Dominique Ebbenga (2nd Place)

SysEB, biodiversity

Julia Leone (PhD EEB) (2nd Place)

Other Awards presented during ESA 2020

Larry Larson Graduate Student Award for Leadership in Applied Entomology, sponsored by Corteva Agriscience

Hailey Shanovich, Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Natural Resources Science and Management Graduate Program, Brian Aukema, Advisor

Award of Excellence in Integrated Pest Management

Bill Hutchison, Professor, University of Minnesota, Department of Entomology

ESA Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension

Christina DiFonzo, Professor, Michigan State University; University of Minnesota, Department of Entomology Alumna 

University of Minnesota Department of Entomology

Cox Family Graduate Research Award 

Michelle Boone

<-- back to newsletter